Introducing CFA Standards Project representative Elaine Atwood

Elaine Attwood

Elaine Attwood has dedicated more than 30 years to community service and  has represented consumers and CFA on many issues.  She has been involved with the National Council of Women since 1990 and with consumer affairs since the late 1970s.

Elaine took an interest in nutrition after her son was diagnosed with ADHD and she and her husband co-founded the Hyperactivity Association of SA which operated from 1975 to 1990.  This led to her interest in raising food standards and making submissions about food labelling, products and additives in food to the National Food Authority.  Subsequently Elaine became active as a consumer representative with a  number of organisations related to food and health such as the Gene Technology Community Consultative Committee; Food Standards Australia New Zealand; South Australian Health Department; South Australian Meat Hygiene Advisory Council; Ministerial Advisory Committee on Agricultural and Veterinary Chemicals; Consumer Consultant, School of Public Health, Flinders University;  and others.

Elaine is currently the CFA representative on Australian Standards Technical Committee NT-001 Nanotechnology and the Registered Australian Expert on a number of ISO TC 229 Working Groups. Elaine was the co-winner of the ISO Simon Holland Excellence Award 2020: “Over more than 10 years, she has contributed to ISO/TC 229 as a keen advocate for the consumer interest…Her exemplary input has brought her respect and admiration in ISO/TC 229 and beyond” read more here.

Elaine was awarded an AM in the Order of Australia honours in 2011 for her service to the community and as a contributor and advocate for consumer rights, human nutrition and health care policy development.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.