CFA Standards representative Elaine Attwood AM receives international award

Congratulations to Elaine Attwood AM as the joint winner of the ISO Simon Holland Award 2020, which is aligned with the ISO Excellence Award. It recognises her outstanding contribution to the work of ISO/TC 229 Nanotechnology in the previous year and acknowledges the input and support Elaine offered to the ISO/TC 229 community and her colleagues.

It is a significant achievement and honour that a consumer advocate has been recognised for the Award; demonstrating that consumers have a significant role to play in the development of standards including on highly technical committees.

Elaine is the CFA standards representative on Standards Australia’s NT-001 Nanotechnologies and the Registered Australian Expert on a number of ISO TC 229 Nanotechnologies working groups. Amongst her extensive contribution to the committee work program over the past 12 years, Elaine participated in the revision and development of two standards that have been adopted in Australia: SA TS ISO 80004.1 Nanotechnologies – Vocabulary – Part 1: Core terms and SA ISO/TS 13830:2013, Nanotechnologies – Guidance on voluntary labelling for consumer products containing manufacturers nano-objects.

Find out how you can represent consumers on standards technical committees as part of the CFA Standards Project by contacting