AFIA Buy Now Pay Later Code Compliance Committee Chair Announced

scroll, side, turn the page-1019916.jpg
A figure sitting on the 's' of the word 'NEWS' reading a newspaper

Original media release from AFIA (1/08/2023).

The Australian Finance Industry Association (AFIA), the peak body for the entire Australian finance industry, today announced that Ms Jillian Brewer has been appointed as the new chair of the AFIA Buy Now Pay Later Code Compliance Committee (CCC) for a three-year term. Jill was an inaugural member of the CCC and is an experienced lawyer, conciliator, investigator and trainer, with more than 20 years of experience in alternative dispute resolution.

Prior to joining the CCC in late 2020, Jill held senior roles with industry ombudsman schemes in banking and telecommunications. She has also worked in compliance roles at a major bank and as a solicitor in private practice and government.

“AFIA is fortunate to have someone of Jill’s calibre and background as the chair of the CCC. Her experience in the financial services industry, and particularly retail banking as a consumer advocate, gives her valuable insight into consumers’ perspectives, experiences and needs,” said AFIA CEO Diane Tate.

Jill takes on the role of chair following the departure of Dr Michael Schaper who has been appointed Chair of the Board of the Gaming & Wagering Commission of Western Australia.

In thanking Dr Schaper for his service to the CCC, Ms Tate said that his guidance and deep understanding of self-regulatory models during the implementation stages of the BNPL Code was instrumental in ensuring that members were able to be accredited to the Code promptly and adoption of new standards across the BNPL sector strengthened consumer protections.

“Dr Schaper’s expert chairmanship of the CCC has been a significant factor in demonstrating the value of the BNPL Code, not only within AFIA, but with government, regulators, key stakeholders and the broader community.

The careful work of the CCC in accreditation, monitoring and oversight of Code members has played an integral part in promoting the adoption of best practices across the sector. We wish Dr Schaper all the best in his new role” Ms Tate said.

AFIA is also very pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Wendy Guy as a new member of the CCC also for a three-year term. Ms Guy was until very recently the Assistant Ombudsman Dispute Resolution at the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (TIO). Before that, she held senior roles in policy, systemic issues and investigations at the TIO. Prior to joining the TIO, Ms Guy was a senior dispute resolution and corporate advisory lawyer at a national law firm and a lawyer and investigator at ASIC.

Ms Guy has been appointed as a CCC member in accordance with AFIA’s commitment to consult with the Consumers Federation of Australia about CCC nominations.