Current CFA Representatives

In line with our Consumer Representation Policy, CFA can appoint representatives or nominate representatives for consideration by the appointing body. In some instances, the appointing body makes the appointment without involving CFA, however we encourage bodies to consider the representative policy.

Below are the names of CFA’s current consumer representatives on government or industry bodies.

ABA Consumer Outcomes Group

CFA-appointed representatives: Gemma Mitchell (CCLSWA), Ian Yates (COTA Australia), Rachna Bowman (FCRC), Fiona Guthrie (FCA), Paul Holmes (Legal Aid Qld), Gerard Brody (Consumer Action Law Centre) and Karen Cox (Financial Rights Legal Centre)

Australian Federation of Travel Agents: AFTA Travel Accreditation Scheme (ATAS) Complaint Appeal Committee (ACAC)

The ACAC reviews certain consumer complaints. See

CFA representatives: Jill Toohey, Liza Newby.

Australian Securities and Investment’s Commission: Consumer Advisory Panel (CAP)

The CAP advise ASIC on current consumer protection issues and give feedback on ASIC policies and activities. See

CFA representative: Gail Pearson

Customer Owned Banking Association: Code of Practice Code Compliance Committee

The Code Compliance Committee supports credit unions, mutual banks and mutual building societies to achieve service standards Australians can trust. See

CFA representative: Philip Cullum

Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety – Consumer Protection Division: Consumer Advisory Committee (CAC)

The CAC advises the Minister and the Commissioner on: the activities and policies of the Department as they affect consumers; current and emerging consumer issues; research and education projects relating to consumers; and any matter referred to the Committee by the Minister or the Commissioner. See

CFA representative: Gemma Mitchell

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand: Consumer and Public Health Dialogue (CPHD)

The CPHD provides a means by which FSANZ can engage in deeper consultation with peak consumer and public health bodies and academics, See

CFA representative: Ian Jarratt

National Disability Insurance Agency: Industry Reference Group

The Group’s purpose is to guide improvements in an advisory capacity to support development of a market for provision of services under the NDIS.

CFA representative: Gerard Brody

National Disability Insurance Scheme Commission Disability Sector Consultative Committee

The NDIS Commission Disability Sector Consultative Committee provides advice to the Commissioner on national issues which influence the delivery of quality and safe NDIS supports and services.

CFA representative: Wayne Hawkins

National Measurement Institute (NMI): Consumer and Industry Liaison Committee (CILC)

The CILC’s principal purposes are to allow representatives of NMI, industry and consumers to exchange views about trade and regulatory matters as they relate to trade measurement and to formulate advice to NMI aimed at improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the regulatory framework and service levels. See

CFA representative: John Furbank

Standards Australia: Technical Committees

CFA nominates representatives to Technical Committees through the CFA Standards Project. Details available on the Standards Project pages of this website.

CFA Standards Project Co-ordinator: Regina Godfredson

Way Forward Debt Solutions

Way Forward is a not-for-profit organisation which provides assistance to people in financial hardship by helping them to get out of debt faster. See

CFA-appointed consumer directors on the board: Karen Cox, Fiona Guthrie, Catriona Lowe & Paul Holmes.